Aviation Investigation A15A0054

Runway excursion, Beech King Air A100, Margaree, Nova Scotia

The occurrence

On 16 August 2015, a Beech King Air A100 was on a charter flight from Halifax, Nova Scotia, to Margaree, Nova Scotia, with 2 passengers and 2 crew aboard. The aircraft landed hard on Runway 01 at the Margaree Airport about 263 feet from the threshold. The right main landing gear collapsed and the right propeller first contacted the runway surface 82 feet beyond the initial runway contact point. The aircraft remained on the runway surface with the right wing, engine nacelle and propeller in contact with the surface until approximately 1700 feet down the 2500-foot-long runway. At this point, the aircraft veered off the right side of the runway at approximately a 30-degree angle to the runway heading. The final resting position of the aircraft was 1850 feet from the threshold of Runway 01, 22 feet from the runway edge and 90 degrees from the runway heading. There were no injuries.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Mike Cunningham

Mike Cunningham has over 30 years of experience in civil aviation and 18 years experience as a Senior Operational Investigator with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB). Originally hired when the TSB was expanding its human factors investigation capabilities, Mike has a Bachelor of Science with a major in psychology as well as an Airline Transport Pilot License. Since being hired, Mike has continued to expand his knowledge in the area of human factors and organizational error, developing a strong interest in this investigative specialization.

During his years with the TSB, initially as an Atlantic Regional Investigator, Mike has been the Investigator-in-charge for over 25 TSB accident investigations. In 2003, Mike accepted a position as a Senior Operational Investigator at the TSB’s head office; since this time, the Cougar 491 accident has been the fourth high profile investigation in which Mike has participated as a TSB team member. The other investigations in which he has involved include the Pelee Island Cessna Caravan accident, the MK Airlines Boeing 747 accident in Halifax and the Global Express accident in Fox Harbour, Nova Scotia. In 2007, Mike was assigned to the TSB’s Atlantic office in Dartmouth as the Regional Manager of aviation occurrence investigations. He has worked diligently to improve safety in aviation and is well known in the East Coast aviation community.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-08-16

TSB deploys a team of investigators to the site of an aircraft accident at Margaree Airport in Nova Scotia
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15A0054

Sortie de piste, Beech King Air A100, Margaree (Nouvelle-Écosse)

L'événement

Le 16 août 2015, un Beech King Air A100 effectuait un vol nolisé de Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) à destination de Margaree (Nouvelle-Écosse) avec 2 passagers et 2 membres d'équipage à bord. L’aéronef a atterri dur sur la piste 01 à l'aéroport de Margaree à environ 263 pieds du seuil. Le train d’atterrissage principal droit s’est affaissé et l’hélice droite a tout d’abord percuté la surface de la piste à 82 pieds au-delà du point initial de toucher des roues. L’aéronef est demeuré sur la surface de la piste avec l’aile, la nacelle moteur et l’hélice de droite en contact avec la surface jusqu’à environ 1700 pieds sur la piste longue de 2500 pieds. L’aéronef est alors sorti du côté droit de la piste à un angle d’environ 30 degrés par rapport au cap de piste. L’aéronef s’est finalement immobilisé à 1850 pieds du seuil de la piste 01, à 22 pieds du bord de piste et selon un angle de 90 degrés par rapport au cap de piste. Personne n'a été blessé.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Mike Cunningham

Mike Cunningham possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de l’aviation civile et de 18 ans d’expérience à titre d’enquêteur principal des opérations au sein du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST). Recruté à l’époque où le BST augmentait ses capacités d’enquête en matière de facteurs humains, Mike est titulaire d’un baccalauréat dès sciences avec majeure en psychologie et d’une licence de pilote de ligne. Depuis son embauche, Mike n’a cessé d’améliorer ses connaissances en matière de facteurs humains et d’erreurs organisationnelles, manifestant un vif intérêt à l’égard de cette spécialisation dans le domaine des enquêtes.

Au cours de sa carrière au BST, d’abord à titre d’enquêteur régional pour la région de l’Atlantique, Mike a été enquêteur désigné dans le cadre de plus de 25 enquêtes menées par le BST sur des accidents. En 2003, Mike a accepté le poste d’enquêteur principal des opérations à l’administration centrale du BST; depuis cette époque, l’accident du Cougar 491 a été la quatrième enquête très médiatisée à laquelle Mike a participé au sein de l’équipe du BST. Il a également pris part aux enquêtes sur l’accident du Cessna Caravan à l’île Pelée, l’accident du Boeing 747 de MK Airlines à Halifax et l’accident du Global Express à Fox Harbour, en Nouvelle Écosse. En 2007, Mike a été affecté au poste de gestionnaire régional des enquêtes sur les accidents du secteur aéronautique au bureau régional de l’Atlantique, qui se trouve à Dartmouth. Il a tout mis en oeuvre afin d’améliorer la sécurité aérienne et est bien connu dans le secteur aérien de la côte Est.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-08-17

Le BST envoie une équipe sur le site d’un accident d’avion survenu à l’aéroport Margaree (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Lire l'avis de déploiement