Aviation Investigation A15Q0126

Collision with terrain, Bell 206B helicopter, Sept-Îles, Quebec

The occurrence

On 2 September 2015, at approximately 0940 EDT, the Bell 206B helicopter operated by Héli-Nord was flying in visual flight conditions from its facilities located at the Sept-Îles, Quebec airport, with 1 pilot and 4 passengers on board. During the landing attempt, the helicopter flew up a few feet and crashed on a rock, for an undetermined reason. Two passengers were fatally injured and 2 had serious injuries. The pilot sustained minor injuries. The investigation is ongoing.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Denis Deroy

Denis Deroy, who has 40 years’ experience in civil aviation, joined the Investigations (Air) Branch of the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) in October 1998. A technical investigator working out of the Dorval office, he has been investigator-in-charge on many occurrences.

Mr. Deroy has held an aircraft maintenance engineer’s licence for 35 years and a private pilot’s licence for 40 years, and has nearly 1500 flight hours on single-engine aircraft. He has been director of maintenance and head inspector at a number of aviation companies, and, before joining the TSB, was an inspector as well as Superintendant, Airworthiness, at Transport Canada.

Since joining the TSB, Mr. Deroy has been involved in many investigations in Canada, and has also worked with various foreign investigating organizations on accidents that occurred outside the country.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-09-02

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a fatal helicopter accident near Sept-Îles, Quebec
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15Q0126

Collision avec le relief, hélicoptère Bell 206B, Sept-Îles (Québec)

L'événement

Le 2 septembre 2015 à approximativement 9 h 40 HAE, l’hélicoptère Bell 206B, exploité par la compagnie Héli-Nord effectuait une envolée dans des conditions de vol à vue à partir de ses installations à l’aéroport de Sept-Îles, Québec avec 1 pilote et 4 passagers à son bord. Lors de la manœuvre d’atterrissage, l’appareil a remonté de quelques pieds et s’est écrasé sur un rocher, pour une raison indéterminée. Deux passagers ont subi des blessures mortelles et les 2 autres passagers ont été grièvement blessés. Le pilote a été légèrement blessé. L’enquête se poursuit.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Denis Deroy

M. Deroy possède 40 ans d’expérience en aviation civile. En octobre 1998, il s’est joint à l’équipe de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du Bureau de la Sécurité des Transports (BST) à Dorval (Québec) à titre d’enquêteur technique. Il a été enquêteur désigné dans plusieurs enquêtes aéronautiques.

Au cours de sa carrière, M. Deroy a travaillé en tant que Directeur de l’entretien et chef inspecteur au service de différents transporteurs aériens Canadiens. Il possède une licence de technicien d’aéronefs depuis 35 ans et également une licence de pilote privé depuis 40 ans, totalisant près de 1500 heures de vol effectuées sur des appareils monomoteurs. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Deroy a occupé les postes d’inspecteur et Surintendant de la navigabilité à Transports Canada.

Depuis qu’il s’est joint au BST, M. Deroy a participé à plusieurs enquêtes et a aussi assisté divers organismes d’enquête étrangers dans leurs enquêtes sur des accidents survenus à l’extérieur du pays.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-09-02

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs à un accident d’hélicoptère mortel près de Sept-Îles (Québec)
Lire l'avis de déploiement