News release

Risks of night flying in areas with limited lighting highlighted in November 2015 fatal collision with terrain near Parry Sound, Ontario

Richmond Hill, Ontario, 12 July 2017 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its investigation report (A15O0188) into a fatal collision with terrain involving a privately operated Cessna 182 near Parry Sound, Ontario. This investigation emphasizes the risks of flying at night in areas with limited cultural and ambient lighting, as well as without adequate instrument flying proficiency.

On 9 November 2015, a privately operated Cessna 182 with one pilot and one passenger aboard, departed from the Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport, Ontario, for a night visual flight rules (VFR) flight to Tillsonburg, Ontario. Once airborne, the aircraft immediately started a right climbing turn, which then became a descending turn before colliding with terrain. The two occupants were fatally injured and a post-impact fire destroyed the aircraft.

The investigation determined that it is likely that the pilot did not adequately assess the hazards associated with a night VFR departure from an airport with limited cultural and ambient lighting. In heavily populated areas, it may be easy for pilots to maintain visual reference to the surface using cultural lighting, such as street and building lights. However, flights are often conducted in remote locations of Canada, where there may be little to no cultural lighting available to help pilots maintain visual reference to the surface. The pilot, who was likely not proficient at flying with reference to instruments, may have become disoriented after losing visual reference to the ground and lost control of the aircraft.

The report highlights several risk factors related to VFR night flying. If current regulations do not clearly define what is meant by visual reference to the surface, night flights may be conducted with inadequate visual references, increasing the risk of accidents. The Board previously made a recommendation (A16-08) calling for Transport Canada (TC) to amend the regulations to clearly define the visual references required for night VFR flying. TC has responded that it will conduct safety promotion/education activities, which will be followed in 2017 by a regulatory amendment project. The Board has assessed TC's response to this recommendation as Satisfactory Intent.

See the investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Une collision mortelle avec le relief survenue en novembre 2015 près de Parry Sound (Ontario) fait ressortir les risques liés aux vols de nuit en région peu éclairée

Richmond Hill (Ontario), le 12 juillet 2017 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête (A15O0188) sur la collision mortelle avec le relief d'un Cessna 182 privé qui est survenue près de Parry Sound (Ontario). L'enquête a mis en évidence les risques liés aux vols de nuit effectués dans des régions peu éclairées par des sources d'éclairage artificiel ou de la lumière ambiante, ainsi que les risques liés aux vols effectués sans les compétences suffisantes en matière de vol aux instruments.

Le 9 novembre 2015, un Cessna 182 privé avec un pilote et un passager à son bord a décollé de l'aéroport municipal de Parry Sound (Ontario) pour effectuer un vol de nuit selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) à destination de Tillsonburg (Ontario). Immédiatement après le décollage, l'aéronef a amorcé un virage vers la droite en montée avant d'effectuer un virage en descente et de percuter le relief. Les deux occupants ont été mortellement blessés, et un incendie qui s'est déclaré après la collision a détruit l'aéronef.

L'enquête a permis de déterminer que le pilote avait probablement mal évalué les risques que pose un départ selon les règles de vol à vue la nuit à partir d'un aérodrome où il y avait peu d'éclairage artificiel et de lumière ambiante. Dans les régions densément peuplées, il peut être plus facile pour les pilotes de maintenir des repères visuels à la surface grâce à l'éclairage artificiel, par exemple l'éclairage de rues et de bâtiments. Toutefois, il y a souvent des vols dans les régions éloignées du Canada où il n'y a que peu ou pas d'éclairage artificiel pour aider les pilotes à maintenir des repères visuels à la surface. Le pilote, qui n'avait probablement pas les compétences requises pour voler aux instruments, peut avoir été désorienté après avoir perdu les repères visuels à la surface et la maîtrise de l'aéronef.

Le rapport souligne plusieurs facteurs de risque liés aux vols de nuit selon les règles de vol à vue. Si la réglementation en vigueur ne définit pas clairement les « repères visuels à la surface », il peut arriver que des vols de nuit soient effectués avec des repères visuels inappropriés, ce qui augmente les risques d'accident. Le Bureau a déjà fait une recommandation (A16-08) qui demande à Transports Canada (TC) de modifier la réglementation de manière à définir clairement les repères visuels requis pour les vols de nuit selon les règles de vol à vue. TC a répondu qu'il mènerait des activités de sensibilisation et d'éducation en matière de sécurité qui seront suivies, en 2017, d'un projet de modification de la réglementation. Le Bureau a estimé que la réponse de TC dénotait une intention satisfaisante.

Voir la page d'enquête pour plus d'information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca