Annual report to parliament on the application of the Privacy Act 2009-2010

Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1K8

The Honourable Josée Verner
President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A6

Honourable Minister:

In accordance with section 72 of the Privacy Act, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada is pleased to submit to Parliament this report on activities relating to the application of the Act for the period 01 April 2009 to 31 March 2010.

Sincerely,

Wendy A. Tadros

Wendy A. Tadros

© Minister of Public Works and Government Services 2010
Cat. No. TU1-4/2-2010E
ISBN 978-1-100-15980-5

Table of Contents

1.0 Introduction

Pursuant to section 72 of the Privacy Act, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is pleased to table in Parliament this report on its activities relating to the application of the Act. The report covers the period from 01 April 2009 to 31 March 2010.

The purpose of the Privacy Act is to protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by government institutions such as the TSB, and to provide individuals with a right of access to that information.

The Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act provides the legal framework that governs TSB activities. Our mandate is to advance transportation safety in the marine, pipeline, rail and air modes of transportation by:

  • conducting independent investigations, including public inquiries when necessary, into selected transportation occurrences in order to make findings as to their causes and contributing factors;
  • identifying safety deficiencies, as evidenced by transportation occurrences;
  • making recommendations designed to eliminate or reduce any such safety deficiencies; and
  • reporting publicly on our investigations and on the findings in relation thereto.

More information on the TSB is available at www.bst-tsb.gc.ca.

The TSB's administration of its Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) activities is in accordance with the government's stated principles that government information should be available to the public with only specific and limited exceptions. Furthermore, the TSB treats personal information in compliance with the code of fair information practice expressed in the Privacy Act.

The majority of formal information requests to the TSB pertain to transportation occurrences and are made pursuant to the Access to Information Act. Such requests present many challenges to the TSB ATIP Office. In many cases, for example, requests are for a copy of the complete investigation file. Depending on the nature and scope of the investigation, there may be many thousands of often complex records in a variety of media. Very often, these files contain a large amount of personal information. As considerable expertise is required in the processing of requests, the TSB ATIP Office function is organized so that ATIP Office analysts are responsible for reviewing and severing all records. This requires that the analysts establish and maintain good working relations with the office of primary interest (OPI) for each request. On an ongoing basis, it also requires that the analysts develop and maintain a strong knowledge of not only the provisions of both Acts but also TSB operations.

The ATIP Office Office operates within the Information Management (IM) Division of Corporate Services. This ensures effective integration of ATIP Office requirements into IM planning, policy development, records management systems and practices, and training and awareness activities.

The ATIP Office Office deals with both formal requests made pursuant to the Act and informal requests, and provides functional advice and guidance to managers and employees concerning the release of information and protection of privacy.

2.0 Delegation of Authority

As required by the legislation, a delegation of authority is in place. For the purposes of the Privacy Act, the "head of the institution" as defined in section 3 of the Act is the Chair. The Chief Operating Officer, the Director General, Corporate Services, and the Manager, Information Management Division have been delegated powers by the Chair deemed appropriate for the effective administration of the Act and to ensure that the TSB meets all its obligations fairly and consistently.

A copy of the Delegation Order is attached as Appendix A.

3.0 Requests for Personal Information

Two (2) formal requests for personal information were received during the current reporting period, compared with four (4) requests during the previous period. Of these, records were fully disclosed to one (1) applicant. The remaining request was carried over to the next fiscal year.

The TSB's policy of openness allows for the disclosure of information to individuals without necessarily requiring that they invoke the Privacy Act. Human Resources officers and support staff handle this kind of request as part of their routine duties.

The TSB remains vigilant in meeting requirements under the Act to protect personal information under its control. This is achieved by ensuring that employees are cognizant of their responsibility to protect the personal information they handle in the course of their duties and by respecting the code of fair information practice enshrined in the legislation.

4.0 Costs

During 2009-2010, the ATIP Office Office incurred an estimated $17,300 in costs to administer the Privacy Act. These costs do not include the resources expended by other areas of the TSB to meet the requirements of the Act.

5.0 Complaints and Investigations

No complaints were received during this reporting period.

6.0 Training and Education

Given the responsibilities and knowledge requirements of the TSB ATIP Office Office, there is a long learning curve for its staff. Continuous on-the-job training is provided to ATIP Office staff to ensure sound and current knowledge of both ATIP Office requirements and procedures and TSB operations.

In terms of external training activities, ATIP Office staff attended the annual Canadian Access and Privacy Association workshop, as well as various workshops organized by the Treasury Board Secretariat throughout the fiscal year. These workshops provided ATIP Office staff with valuable information on trends and best practices within the ATIP Office community, updates on recent complaints and court cases, and tools to help improve service standards within the field.

During the reporting period, the ATIP Office Office provided customized training to employees of the Operational Services Branch at the TSB Laboratory. Approximately 20 TSB employees participated in the training session.

In addition, the TSB has put in place an orientation program for new employees. The ATIP Office Office prepared and presented ATIP Office training in the pilot English and French sessions, and subsequently provided training in one English and one French session to approximately thirty employees. The ATIP Office Office will continue to provide training in future orientation sessions as part of the ongoing program.

7.0 Policies, Guidelines and Procedures

No new or revised privacy-related policies, guidelines or procedures were implemented in the TSB during the reporting period.

8.0 Privacy Impact Assessments

The TSB did not undertake any Privacy Impact Assessments (PIA) during the reporting period.

9.0 Disclosures Pursuant to Paragraph 8(2)(m)

The TSB did not disclose any information pursuant to paragraph 8(2)(m) during the reporting period.

10.0 Statistics Required by Treasury Board

The statistics required by the Treasury Board Secretariat are found in Appendix B.

Appendix A - Delegation Order

Appendix A - Delegation Order

Appendix B - Statistical Report

Appendix B - Statistical Report

Rapport annuel au parlement sur l'application de la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels 2009-2010

Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

L'honorable Josée Verner
Présidente du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0A6

Madame la Ministre,

Conformément à l'article 72 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada est heureux de déposer auprès du Parlement son rapport sur ses activités liées à l'application de la Loi au cours de la période allant du 1er avril 2009 au 31 mars 2010.

Veuillez agréer, Madame la Ministre, mes salutations distinguées.

Wendy A. Tadros

Wendy A. Tadros

© Ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux 2010
Cat. No. TU1-4/2-2010F
ISBN 978-1-100-94788-4

Table des matières

1.0 Introduction

En vertu de l'article 72 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) est heureux de déposer auprès du Parlement son rapport sur ses activités liées à l'application de la Loi. Le rapport vise la période du 1er avril 2009 au 31 mars 2010.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a pour objet de protéger la vie privée des personnes relativement aux renseignements personnels que les institutions gouvernementales telles que le BST possèdent à leur sujet et de fournir un droit d'accès à cette information.

La Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports établit les paramètres juridiques qui régissent les activités du BST. Notre mission consiste à promouvoir la sécurité du transport maritime, ferroviaire et aérien, ainsi que du transport par pipeline en :

  • procédant à des enquêtes indépendantes, y compris des enquêtes publiques au besoin, sur les événements de transport choisis, afin d'en dégager les causes et les facteurs contributifs;
  • constatant les lacunes de sécurité mises en évidence par de tels événements;
  • faisant des recommandations sur les moyens d'éliminer ou de réduire ces lacunes;
  • publiant des rapports rendant compte de ses enquêtes et présentant les conclusions qu'il en tire.

Pour plus d'information sur le BST, consultez www.bst-tsb.gc.ca.

Le BST exerce ses activités relatives à l'accès à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) conformément aux principes déclarés du gouvernement selon lesquels l'information gouvernementale doit être accessible au public, sous réserve de certaines exceptions bien précises. En outre, le BST traite les renseignements personnels conformément au code des pratiques équitables en matière de renseignements énoncé dans la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La majorité des demandes officielles d'information reçues par le BST ont trait à des événements de transport et sont faites conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. De telles demandes posent de nombreux défis au bureau d'AIPRP du BST. Par exemple, dans de nombreux cas, les requérants demandent un exemplaire du dossier d'enquête au complet. Selon la nature et la portée de l'enquête, il pourrait y avoir des milliers de documents souvent complexes dans une variété de supports de données. Très souvent, ces documents renferment une grande quantité de renseignements personnels. Étant donné qu'une grande expertise est nécessaire pour traiter les demandes, la fonction d'AIPRP du BST est organisée de façon à ce que les analystes d'AIPRP soient responsables d'examiner et de retrancher tous les documents. Il va sans dire que les analystes doivent établir et maintenir de bonnes relations de travail avec le bureau de première responsabilité (BRP) pour chaque demande. De façon continue, les analystes doivent également perfectionner et entretenir de bonnes connaissances non seulement des dispositions des deux lois mais des activités du BST.

Le bureau d'AIPRP du BST fait partie de la Division de la gestion de l'information de la Direction générale des services intégrés. Cela permet d'assurer l'intégration efficace des exigences relatives à l'AIPRP dans la planification, l'élaboration de politiques, les systèmes et pratiques de gestion des dossiers ainsi que les activités de formation et de sensibilisation en matière de gestion de l'information.

Le bureau d'AIPRP traite à la fois des demandes officielles de la Loi et des demandes officieuses. De plus, il fournit une orientation fonctionnelle et des lignes directrices aux gestionnaires et aux employés en ce qui a trait à la divulgation de l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels.

2.0 Délégation de pouvoir

Une délégation de pouvoir a été établie, comme l'exige la Loi. Aux fins de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le « responsable d'institution fédérale », en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi, est la présidente. Elle a délégué à l'administrateur en chef des opérations ainsi qu'à la directrice générale des Services intégrés et au gestionnaire de la Division de la gestion de l'information les pouvoirs jugés nécessaires pour l'administration efficace de la Loi. Ces trois personnes s'assurent que le BST s'acquitte de toutes ses obligations de façon équitable et uniforme.

Un exemplaire de l'ordonnance de délégation de pouvoir se trouve à l'annexe A.

3.0 Demandes de renseignements personnels

Au cours de la période visée, le BST a reçu deux (2) demandes officielles de renseignements personnels, contre quatre (4) demandes au cours de l'exercice précédent. Une (1) d'entre elles a donné lieu à une divulgation complète des renseignements demandés. L'autre demande a été reportée à l'exercice 2010-2011.

La politique de transparence du BST prévoit la divulgation de renseignements aux personnes sans qu'il ne leur soit nécessaire d'invoquer la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les agents des ressources humaines et le personnel de soutien traitent ces demandes dans le cadre de leurs fonctions habituelles.

Le BST prend soin de respecter les exigences prévues dans la Loi relativement à la protection des renseignements personnels placés sous son contrôle. À cette fin, il s'assure que les employés sont conscients de leurs responsabilités relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels auxquels ils ont accès dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions et qu'ils respectent le code des pratiques équitables en matière de renseignements que prévoit la loi.

4.0 Coûts

En 2009-2010, le bureau d'AIPRP a dépensé quelque 17 300 $ pour l'administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Ces coûts n'incluent pas les ressources engagées par d'autres secteurs du BST pour satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi.

5.0 Plaintes et enquêtes

Aucune plainte n'a été reçue au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport.

6.0 Formation et sensibilisation

Étant donné les responsabilités et les exigences en matière de connaissances du bureau d'AIPRP du BST, la courbe d'apprentissage de ses employés est longue. Le personnel de l'AIPRP reçoit une formation continue en cours d'emploi afin de s'assurer qu'il possède de solides connaissances courantes en matière des exigences et procédures d'AIPRP et des activités du BST.

Pour ce qui est des activités de formation à l'externe, le personnel du bureau d'AIPRP a assisté à l'atelier annuel de l'Association canadienne d'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels pendant l'exercice financier, ainsi qu'à divers ateliers organisés par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ces ateliers ont permis aux membres du personnel de l'AIPRP de recevoir de l'information utile sur les tendances et les pratiques exemplaires au sein de la collectivité de l'AIPRP, sur de récentes plaintes et de récents cas en instance et sur des outils qui aideraient à améliorer les normes de service dans leur domaine.

Au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport, le bureau d'AIPRP a donné de la formation sur mesure aux employés de la Direction des services à l'appui des enquêtes au laboratoire du BST. Une vingtaine d'employés du BST ont participé à cette séance de formation.

En outre, le BST a mis sur pied un programme d'orientation destiné aux nouveaux employés. Le bureau d'AIPRP a préparé et présenté de la formation en AIPRP lors des séances pilotes en français et en anglais et a par la suite donné de la formation lors d'une séance en français et d'une séance en anglais à une trentaine d'employés. Le bureau d'AIPRP continuera de donner de la formation lors de séances d'orientation éventuelles dans le cadre du programme continu.

7.0 Politiques, lignes directrices et procédures

Le BST n'a mis en application aucune nouvelle politique, ligne directrice ou procédure quant à la protection des renseignements personnels durant la période de rapport.

8.0 Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Le BST n'a procédé à aucune évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport.

9.0 Divulgations en vertu de l'alinéa 8(2)m)

Aucun renseignement n'a été divulgué en vertu de l'alinéa (8)(2)m) au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport.

10.0 Statistiques exigées par le Conseil du Trésor

Les statistiques exigées par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor se trouvent à l'annexe B.

Annexe A - Ordonnance de délégation de pouvoir

Annexe A - Ordonnance de délégation de pouvoir

Annexe B - Rapport statistique

Annexe B - Rapport statistique

Date de modification :
2012-07-09