Aviation Recommendation A00-01

Reassessment of Responses to Aviation Safety Recommendation A00-01

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Oxygen System Requirements

Background

On 18 May 1998, a Pilatus PC-12 aircraft, serial number 151, was on a scheduled domestic flight from St. John's, Newfoundland, to Goose Bay, Labrador, with the pilot, a company observer, and eight passengers on board. Twenty-three minutes into the flight, the aircraft turned back towards St. John's because of a low oil pressure indication. Eight minutes later, the engine (Pratt & Whitney PT6A-67B) had to be shut down because of a severe vibration. The pilot then turned towards Clarenville Airport, but was unable to reach the airfield. The aircraft was destroyed during the forced landing in a bog one and a half miles from the Clarenville Airport. The pilot, the company observer, and one passenger sustained serious injuries.

The Board concluded its investigation and authorized the release of report A98A0067 on 04 February 2000.

Board Recommendation A00-01 (24 March 2000)

The requirement for pressurized aircraft to carry a supplemental oxygen supply is set out in Canadian Aviation Regulations (CAR) 605.31. The CAR requires a ten-minute minimum supply of oxygen for passengers and crew, or an amount sufficient to allow an emergency descent to below 13 000 feet, whichever is greater. The standard oxygen system on board the Pilatus PC-12 meets the requirements set out in these CARs (ten minutes). The single-engine instrument flight rules (SEIFR) does not stipulate any additional oxygen equipment requirements.

According to the Pilot Operating Handbook (POH), the standard PC-12 oxygen system is "for use by crew and passengers in the event of contaminated air being introduced into the cabin or a loss of pressurization with a rapid descent to lower altitudes." The system "will supply two crew and nine passengers for a minimum of 10 minutes in which time a descent from 30 000 feet to 10 000 feet is performed." A rapid descent is the best course of action for air contamination or depressurization while under power; however, if the aircraft loses pressurization due to engine failure, a rapid descent would compromise the aircraft's glide profile and lessen the chances of reaching a suitable aerodrome.

Maintaining the aircraft's optimal glide profile is a fundamental aspect of coping with a total power loss. But, in a high-altitude engine failure scenario, the need to maintain optimal glide speed is at odds with the requirement to descend rapidly to below 13 000 feet due to depressurization and limited supplemental oxygen reserves. The PC-12 POH states that at the PC-12's optimum engine-out glide configuration, it would take 16 minutes to descend from 30 000 feet (the maximum altitude for PC-12 dual-pilot operations) to 13 000 feet. In a descent from 30 000 feet, supplemental oxygen would have been depleted six minutes prior to reaching 13 000 feet; from 25 000 feet (the maximum altitude for single-pilot operations), it would take about 11.5 minutes for the descent. Although the PC-12 meets CAR requirements for oxygen equipment, the standard oxygen supply carried is insufficient to allow engine-out let-down using the optimal glide profile while at the same time maintaining oxygen reserves.

The oxygen equipment and supply regulation predates SEIFR operations and has not been amended since the implementation of the SEIFR policy. The rule does not reflect the requirement for single-engine aircraft to maintain an optimal glide profile throughout the entirety of an engine-out descent. Other regulatory authorities have recognized the need for a specific oxygen equipment rule for SEIFR operations. The Australian Civil Aviation Safety Authority SEIFR rule requires that pressurized SEIFR aeroplanes be equipped with "sufficient additional oxygen for all occupants to allow the descent from cruising level following engine failure to be made at the best range gliding speed and in the best gliding configuration, assuming the maximum cabin leak rate, until a cabin altitude of 13 000 feet is reached." European Joint Aviation Requirement - Operations (JAR-OPS) SEIFR draft regulations propose the same oxygen rule.

Although oxygen supply was not a factor in this occurrence, it has been demonstrated that pressurized SEIFR aircraft operating in Canada may have insufficient oxygen reserves to allow for an optimal engine-out descent from maximum operating level. Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport require that pressurized SEIFR aircraft have sufficient supplemental oxygen to allow for an optimal glide profile during an engine-out let-down from the aircraft's maximum operating level until a cabin altitude of 13 000 feet is attained.
A00-01

Transport Canada's Response to A00-01 (21 June 2000)

In their reply, Transport Canada (TC) indicated that they concur with the recommendation on additional oxygen supply for pressurized SEIFR aircraft and, subject to the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) consultation process, will develop Notices of Proposed Amendment (NPA) for the applicable areas of the CARs and associated Standards. TC is anticipating submitting these documents to the December 2000 meeting of the CARAC's Commercial Air Services Operations Technical Committee.

Board Assessment of Transport Canada's Response to A00-01 (13 September 2000)

In their reply, TC indicated that they concur with the recommendation on additional oxygen supply for pressurized SEIFR aircraft and, subject to the CARAC consultation process, will develop NPA for the applicable areas of the CARs and associated Standards. TC is anticipating submitting these documents to the December 2000 meeting of the CARAC's Commercial Air Services Operations Technical Committee.

Given that safety action will not take place until after the consultative process with CARAC, the response is considered Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB staff will continue to monitor TC's future actions related to this recommendation, and will update this assessment if appropriate.

Board Reassessment of A00-01 (09 June 2004)

Commercial Air Services Standard 723.22 has been amended to include subsection 2 (g) requiring "sufficient supplemental oxygen for an optimal glide profile during an engine out let-down from 25 000 ft until a cabin altitude of 13 000 ft."

Consequently, this response is considered Fully Satisfactory.

This deficiency file is assigned a Closed status.

Recommandation aérienne A00-01

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A00-01

Exigences relatives au circuit d'oxygène

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 18 mai 1998, l'avion Pilatus PC-12 portant le numéro de série 151 effectue un vol intérieur à horaire fixe entre St. John's (Terre-Neuve) et Goose Bay (Labrador). L'avion transporte le pilote, un observateur de la compagnie et 8 passagers. Vingt-trois minutes après le départ, l'avion doit faire demi-tour pour revenir à St. John's à cause d'une indication de basse pression d'huile. Huit minutes plus tard, il faut couper le moteur (Pratt & Whitney PT6A-67B) à cause de fortes vibrations. Le pilote se dirige alors vers l'aéroport de Clarenville, mais il ne peut l'atteindre. Le pilote fait un atterrissage forcé dans un marécage situé à 1.5 mille de l'aéroport de Clarenville, mais l'avion est détruit au cours de la manœuvre, et le pilote, l'observateur de la compagnie et un des passagers subissent des blessures graves.

Le Bureau a terminé son enquête et a publié le rapport d'enquête A98A0067 le 4 février 2000.

Recommandation A00-01 (24 mars 2000)

L'article 605.31 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) exige que les aéronefs pressurisés disposent d'une réserve d'oxygène. Cet article exige soit une réserve permettant de fournir de l'oxygène pendant au moins 10 minutes à l'équipage et aux passagers, soit une réserve suffisante pour permettre une descente d'urgence au-dessous de 13 000 pieds, selon la plus grande de ces 2 quantités. Le circuit d'oxygène ordinaire monté à bord du Pilatus PC-12 respecte les exigences énoncées (10 minutes) dans l'article du RAC. Les règles de vol aux instruments applicables aux monomoteurs (SEIFR) n'imposent aucune exigence supplémentaire relative au circuit d'oxygène.

Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion (POH) mentionne que le circuit d'oxygène ordinaire du PC-12 est prévu pour l'équipage et les passagers en cas de contamination de l'air envoyé dans la cabine ou de dépressurisation avec descente rapide vers une altitude plus basse. Il mentionne également que le circuit est capable de fournir de l'oxygène à 2 membres d'équipage et à 9 passagers pendant au moins 10 minutes, le temps que l'avion descende de 30 000 à 10 000 pieds. Une descente rapide est la meilleure façon de procéder en cas de contamination de l'air ou de dépressurisation, si le moteur fonctionne; toutefois, si l'avion subit une dépressurisation à cause d'une panne moteur, une descente rapide va nuire au profil de plané de l'avion et va diminuer les chances d'atteindre un aérodrome convenable.

Conserver le profil optimal de plané est un élément fondamental quand on fait face à une panne moteur complète. Cependant, dans un scénario de panne moteur à haute altitude, la nécessité de conserver la vitesse optimale de plané se fait au détriment de l'obligation de descendre rapidement au-dessous de 13 000 pieds à cause de la dépressurisation et des réserves limitées d'oxygène. Le POH du PC-12 précise qu'en configuration optimale de plané sans moteur, il faut prévoir 16 minutes à l'avion pour descendre de 30 000 pieds (l'altitude d'exploitation maximale du PC-12 en pilotage à deux) à 13 000 pieds. Cela signifie qu'en cas de descente à partir de 30 000 pieds, la réserve d'oxygène sera épuisée 6 minutes avant que l'avion arrive à 13 000 pieds; à partir de 25 000 pieds (l'altitude d'exploitation maximale en pilotage à un seul pilote), la descente prend environ 11.5 minutes. Le PC-12 respecte les exigences du RAC relatives à l'équipement d'oxygène, mais la réserve normale d'oxygène à bord n'est pas suffisante pour permettre une descente sans moteur en adoptant le profil optimal de plané tout en conservant des réserves d'oxygène.

La réglementation relative à l'équipement et à la réserve d'oxygène est antérieure aux vols SEIFR et n'a pas été modifiée depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la politique applicable à de tels vols. La réglementation ne mentionne pas qu'un monomoteur doit pouvoir conserver son profil optimal de plané tout au long de sa descente sans moteur. D'autres organismes de réglementation ont reconnu la nécessité d'édicter une règle spécifique en matière d'équipement d'oxygène applicable aux vols SEIFR. En Australie, la Civil Aviation Safety Authority exige que les avions pressurisés effectuant des vols SEIFR soient équipés d'une quantité additionnelle d'oxygène suffisante destinée à tous les occupants qui permette à l'avion de descendre de son niveau de croisière, après une panne moteur et en adoptant la vitesse de plané donnant la distance franchissable maximale et la meilleure configuration de plané, jusqu'à une altitude cabine de 13 000 pieds, et ce, en supposant une perte de pression cabine maximale. Le projet de règlement des Joint Aviation Requirements - Operations (JAR-OPS) européennes renferme la même règle en matière d'oxygène applicable aux vols SEIFR.

La réserve d'oxygène n'a joué aucun rôle dans l'accident, mais il a été démontré que les avions pressurisés effectuant des vols SEIFR au Canada n'ont peut-être pas des réserves d'oxygène suffisantes pour leur permettre d'effectuer une descente optimale sans moteur depuis l'altitude d'exploitation maximale. Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports exige que les aéronefs pressurisés effectuant des vols selon les règles de vol aux instruments applicables aux monomoteurs (SEIFR) disposent d'une réserve d'oxygène suffisante pour pouvoir adopter un profil de plané optimal pendant une descente sans moteur, de l'altitude d'exploitation maximale de l'aéronef à une altitude cabine de 13 000 pieds.

Recommandation A99-08 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (21 juin 2000)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada accepte cette recommandation concernant la réserve d'oxygène additionnelle des avions SEIFR pressurisés et, sous réserve du processus de consultation du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC), rédigera des Avis de proposition de modification (APM) portant sur les points pertinents du RAC et des normes connexes. Transports Canada prévoit soumettre ces documents lors de la réunion du Comité technique sur l'utilisation d'aéronefs dans le cadre d'un service aérien commercial du CCRAC, qui aura lieu en décembre 2000.

Évaluation du Bureau (13 septembre 2000)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada indique qu'il accepte cette recommandation concernant la réserve d'oxygène additionnelle des avions SEIFR pressurisés et, sous réserve du processus de consultation du CCRAC, qu'il rédigera des APM portant sur les points pertinents du RAC et des normes connexes. Transports Canada prévoit soumettre ces documents à la réunion du Comité technique sur l'utilisation d'aéronefs dans le cadre d'un service aérien commercial du CCRAC, qui aura lieu en décembre 2000.

Comme la mesure de sécurité ne pourra être prise qu'après être passée par le processus de consultation du CCRAC, on estime que la réponse dénote une « intention satisfaisante ».

Suivi exercé par le BST (13 septembre 2000)

Le personnel du BST va continuer à surveiller les mesures qui seront prises par Transports Canada à l'égard de cette recommandation, et il révisera la présente évaluation au besoin.

Réévaluation du Bureau (9 juin 2004)

La Norme de service aérien commercial 723.22 a été modifiée par l'ajout de l'alinéa 2g) exigeant « une réserve d'oxygène suffisante pour pouvoir adopter un profil de plané optimal, pendant une descente sans moteur de 25 000 pieds jusqu'à une altitude cabine de 13 000 pieds ».

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote une « Attention entièrement satisfaisante ».

Le dossier entourant cette lacune est classé « Fermé ».