Aviation data

Aviation occurrence and aircraft data from January 2004

Information about the data

The TSB is publishing selected data pertaining to accidents and reportable incidents from its Aviation Safety Information System (ASIS) for use by industry and the public, with a view to advancing transportation safety.

The aviation data files (in CSV format) are released on or soon after the 15th of each month, and contain data from 01 January 2004 to the last day of the month preceding their release.

There are two data sets, each in CSV format:

  1. The aviation occurrence data set can be used to obtain occurrence counts, but it also contains basic data on the aircraft involved in occurrences. Records for occurrences involving more than one aircraft show information on each aircraft in the same row; the title of each column contains a sequential number for each aircraft (the sequential number is non-hierarchical).
  2. More detailed data on the aircraft involved in occurrences are captured in the aircraft data set. Records for occurrences involving more than one aircraft show information on each aircraft in a separate row; the occurrence identification number is repeated in each row.

The data are described in the accompanying occurrence data dictionary (HTML or CSV) and aircraft data dictionary (HTML or CSV).

Note that the abbreviation N/A in these files means not applicable.

Because these data are extracted from a live database that captures the results of ongoing investigations, the data are subject to change, with the oldest data being the most stable. As many occurrences are not investigated formally (see the Occurrence Classification Policy), information recorded on some occurrences may not have been verified. Furthermore, a limited number of recent occurrences counted in the monthly statistics may not be included in the aviation occurrence and aircraft data files until information is validated.

TSB data are collected according to the mandatory occurrence reporting requirements described in the TSB Regulations. On 01 July 2014, the TSB issued new regulations that changed some reporting requirements. Data prior to this date were collected under the reporting requirements described in the TSB Regulations in effect at that time.

More data will be added to these data sets as they become available for publication.

Données aéronautiques

Données sur les événements d'aviation à partir de janvier 2004

Informations sur les données

Le BST publie certaines données concernant les accidents d'aviation et les incidents d'aviation à signaler dans sa base de données d'aviation (ASIS) afin que l'industrie et le public puissent s'en servir pour promouvoir la sécurité des transports.

Les fichiers de données d'aviation (en format CSV) sont publiés le 15e jour de chaque mois, ou peu de temps après; ils contiennent les données recueillies à compter du 1er janvier 2004 jusqu'au dernier jour du mois précédant la publication.

Il y a actuellement deux fichiers de données disponibles en format CSV:

  1. L'ensemble de données sur les événements d'aviation permet de calculer le nombre d'événements, mais contient également les informations de base sur tous les aéronefs impliqués dans l'événement. Pour les événements dans lesquels plus d'un aéronef est impliqué, les informations relatives à chaque aéronef sont présentées sur la même ligne, et le titre de chaque colonne contient un numéro séquentiel attribué à chaque aéronef. (Ce numéro séquentiel n'est pas hiérarchique.)
  2. Les informations plus détaillées sur les aéronefs impliqués dans un événement sont saisies dans l'ensemble de données sur les aéronefs. Si plus d'un aéronef est impliqué dans l'événement, les informations sur chaque aéronef sont saisies sur une ligne séparée, et le numéro d'identification de l'événement est recopié sur chaque ligne.

Les ensembles de données sont accompagnés des dictionnaires des données sur les événements (HTML ou CSV) et sur les aéronefs (HTML ou CSV).

Il convient de noter que l'abréviation S/O contenue dans ces fichiers signifie « sans objet ».

Comme les données sont extraites d'une base de données en temps réel qui fait état des enquêtes en cours, les données sont sujettes à des modifications, les plus anciennes étant les moins susceptibles de changer. Certains événements ne faisant pas l'objet d'enquêtes officielles (voir la Politique de classification des événements), les informations qui s'y rapportent n'ont pas nécessairement été vérifiées. De plus, il se peut qu’un nombre limité d’événements récents répertoriés dans les statistiques mensuelles ne soient pas inclus dans les fichiers de données sur les événements et les aéronefs avant que l’information ne soit validée.

Les données du BST sont recueillies conformément aux exigences relatives aux rapports obligatoires sur les événements énoncées dans le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports. Le 1er juillet 2014, le BST a publié un nouveau règlement qui a modifié certaines des exigences relatives aux rapports. Les données antérieures à cette date ont été recueillies conformément aux exigences relatives aux événements qui devaient être signalés aux termes du Règlement sur le BST qui était alors en vigueur.

Des informations supplémentaires seront ajoutées au fur et à mesure qu'elles deviennent disponibles pour la publication.