Language selection

Air transportation safety investigation A20O0029

Updated in June 2021 : This investigation is in the report phase.

Table of contents

Bird strike / rejected takeoffs

Air Canada Embraer E190 and Air Canada Boeing 777-300
Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario

The occurrence

On , at 0948 eastern daylight time, an Embraer 190-100 aircraft, operated by Air Canada, with four crew and 83 passengers, was conducting a takeoff under visual departure procedures from Runway 06L at the Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport (CYYZ). After the Embraer 190 began its takeoff roll, a Boeing 777-300 aircraft, operated by Air Canada, with 14 crew and 345 passengers, was instructed to position and hold onto Runway 06L. While the Embraer 190 was on the take-off roll, air traffic control issued a takeoff clearance to the Boeing 777. Moments later, the Embraer 190 struck a bird. The flight crew initiated a rejected takeoff and made a radio call on the tower frequency that they were aborting the takeoff. As they made their radio call, the Boeing 777 flight crew read back the take-off clearance on the same frequency and commenced their take-off roll. The simultaneous radio transmissions went undetected—neither air traffic control nor the Boeing 777 flight crew heard the Embraer 190’s radio call.

At approximately 80 knots, the Boeing 777 flight crew observed that the Embraer 190 was still on the runway, initiated a rejected takeoff and made a radio call on the tower frequency that they were also aborting their takeoff. The Embraer 190 decelerated and returned to the terminal. The Boeing 777 flight crew decelerated, stopped on the runway and then proceeded to the terminal after allowing the brakes to cool. There were no injuries. There was no damage to either aircraft.

The TSB is investigating.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence




Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Jean-Pierre (Jeep) Régnier

Jean-Pierre (Jeep) Régnier is a senior investigator, Standards and Quality Assurance, with the Air Investigations Branch at the TSB head office in Gatineau. He has over 30 years of aviation experience, including 27 years in military aviation in the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) as an officer and a helicopter pilot. During those 27 years in the RCAF, he worked as an accident investigator for 5 years. Mr. Régnier gained his flight experience on the CH-124 Sea King and Bell 206 Jet Ranger helicopters. He earned a master’s degree in safety and accident investigation from Cranfield University, United Kingdom, and joined the TSB in 2015.


Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Sélection de la langue

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A20O0029

Table des matières

Impact d’oiseau et décollages refusés

Embraer E190 d’Air Canada et Boeing 777-300 d’Air Canada
Aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario)

L'événement

Le , à 9 h 48, heure avancée de l’Est, un aéronef Embraer 190-100, exploité par Air Canada, avec quatre membres d’équipage et 83 passagers à bord, effectuait un décollage selon les procédures de départ de vol à vue de la piste 06L à l’aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (CYYZ). Après que l’Embraer 190 a commencé sa course au décollage, un Boeing 777-300, exploité par Air Canada, avec 14 membres d’équipage et 345 passagers à bord, a reçu l’ordre de se positionner et d’attendre sur la piste 06L. Alors que l’Embraer 190 effectuait la course au décollage, le contrôle de la circulation aérienne a donné une autorisation de décollage au Boeing 777. Quelques instants plus tard, l’Embraer 190 a heurté un oiseau. L’équipage de conduite a amorcé un décollage interrompu et a fait un appel radio sur la fréquence de la tour indiquant qu’il interrompait le décollage. Au moment de l’appel radio, l’équipage du Boeing 777 a relu l’autorisation de décollage sur la même fréquence et a commencé sa course au décollage. Les transmissions radio simultanées n’ont pas été détectées — ni le contrôle de la circulation aérienne ni l’équipage du Boeing 777 n’ont entendu l’appel radio de l’Embraer 190.

À environ 80 nœuds, l’équipage de conduite du Boeing 777 a remarqué que l’Embraer 190 était toujours sur la piste, a amorcé un décollage interrompu et a fait un appel radio sur la fréquence de la tour indiquant qu’il interrompait également son décollage. L’Embraer 190 a décéléré et est retourné à l’aérogare. L’équipage de conduite du Boeing 777 a décéléré, s’est arrêté sur la piste puis s’est rendu à l’aérogare après avoir laissé refroidir les freins. Il n’y a eu aucun blessé. Aucun des deux aéronefs n’a été endommagé.

Le BST mène une enquête.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région




Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Jean-Pierre (Jeep) Régnier

Jean-Pierre (Jeep) Régnier est enquêteur principal, Normes et assurance de la qualité, au sein de la Direction des enquêtes aéronautiques à l’administration centrale du BST à Gatineau. Il a plus de 30 ans d’expérience en aviation, dont plus de 27 ans d’expérience au sein de l’Aviation royale canadienne (ARC) comme officier et pilote d’hélicoptères. De ces 27 années à l’ARC, il a travaillé pendant 5 ans comme enquêteur d’accidents. M. Régnier a acquis son expérience de vol en pilotant les hélicoptères CH-124 Sea King et Bell 206 Jet Ranger. Il également a obtenu une maîtrise en sécurité et enquêtes sur les accidents de l’Université Cranfield, au Royaume-Uni, et s’est joint au BST en 2015.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.