Language selection

Senior management

Chief Operating Officer

Photo of Andre Lapointe, Office of the Chief Operating Officer, Transportation Safety Board of Canada

André Lapointe

Appointed Chief Operating Officer on 26 August 2019

André Lapointe is a seasoned executive, with 28 years of work experience, including 19 at the executive level. He joined the public service in 1990 with the Canadian Security Intelligence Service serving initially as a political analyst and later, as the Managing Editor for the Analysis Branch.

Mr. Lapointe joined Transport Canada (TC) in 1996 in the Intelligence Division, and in 2000 became Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister. From 2003–2006, he served as the Executive Director, Strategic Policy and R&D, which included responsibility for the Transportation Development Centre. From 2007–2014, he served as Regional Director General for the Quebec Region; and between 2014 and his joining the TSB in 2019, he served as TC’s Assistant Deputy Minister of Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer.

Mr. Lapointe holds a BA with distinction in Political Science from McGill University and an MA in Social Sciences from the University of Ottawa.

Director, Investigations–Air

Photo of Natacha Van Themsche, Director, Investigations – Air

Natacha Van Themsche

Natacha Van Themsche joined the TSB in February 2017, as Director of Air Investigations.

Prior to joining the TSB, she held positions as Director and Commanding Officer in the Canadian Armed Forces, where she served for more than 24 years. As an aerospace engineering officer, she held several key positions directing airworthiness and engineering activities, as well as maintenance operations within the Royal Canadian Air Force. These experiences led her to work on several fleets of aircraft, such as the CT-133 (Silver Star), the CC-144 (Challenger), the CT-114 (Tutor/Snowbirds), and more particularly the CF-18 (Hornet).

Ms. Van Themsche began her career with the Canadian Armed Forces in 1992. She completed her Bachelor of Science, Honours Space Science, at the Royal Military College in Kingston in 1997, and her training in aerospace engineering in 1999. In 2012, Ms. Van Themsche was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition for her contribution to the Canadian Armed Forces and the community.

Director, Investigations–Marine

Photo of Clifford Harvey, Director, Investigations – Marine

Clifford Harvey

Clifford Harvey joined the TSB in November 2019, as Director of Marine Investigations.

Mr. Harvey is a marine engineer with over 25 years of experience as a public servant in the marine industry. In addition to sailing as Chief Engineering Officer on Canadian Coast Guard vessels, Mr. Harvey obtained knowledge of the broader aspects of commercial shipping and regulatory compliance through his years with Transport Canada as both a Marine Safety Inspector in a regional office and national program manager at Headquarters. An experienced executive within the public service, Mr. Harvey joined the TSB from the Canadian Coast Guard where he had returned and was responsible for the life cycle management and in-service support program for the Canadian Coast Guard fleet.

Mr. Harvey is a graduate of the Canadian Coast Guard College, the holder of a STCW First-Class Engineer (Motor Ship), and has a Bachelor of Technology (Nautical Sciences) from the University College of Cape Breton.

Director, Rail and Pipeline Investigations

Photo of Vincenzo De Angelis, Director, Rail and Pipeline Investigations

Vincenzo De Angelis

Vincenzo De Angelis joined the TSB in February 2022, as Director of Rail and Pipeline Investigations.

Mr. De Angelis began his career in 2001 as a mechanical engineer and project manager at the Naval Engineering Test Establishment (NETE) in Montreal. He joined the public service in 2008 as a project engineer with the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG), Vessel Procurement Directorate in Ottawa. He later joined the CCG Integrated Technical Services Directorate where he held positions as a senior engineer, manager and deputy director providing technical support to the in-service fleet.   During his career he has led or overseen various technical investigations, and was responsible for the delivery of engineering and technical services provided by multi-disciplinary teams. He also established strong relationships with partners and stakeholders within industry and government.

Mr. De Angelis holds a Bachelor of Engineering and a Master’s of Aerospace Engineering from Concordia University in Montreal.

Associate Director, Operational Services

Photo of Susan Greene, Associate Director, Operational Services

Susan Greene

Susan Greene joined the TSB in 2011 as the manager, Multi-modal Training and Standards. She became a member of the senior management team in July 2018.

Ms. Greene’s career in aviation began in 1987 when she joined a regional airline operating out of Atlantic Canada. With the airline, she worked in an operational setting, and eventually progressed into the management cadre. In 1995, Ms. Greene moved to Ottawa from her home province of Nova Scotia as she joined the public service with Transport Canada (TC) as a civil aviation safety inspector. In her 16 years at TC, Ms. Greene enjoyed a diverse and progressively challenging career as she occupied positions such as superintendent, Cabin Safety, in Airline Inspection; security education project officer in Security Operations; chief, Cabin Safety Standards, and chief, Program Management for Standards, in Civil Aviation. Throughout her career at TC and now with the TSB, she has lead a wide variety of national initiatives for developing and implementing regulations, standards, policies, processes, procedures and training.

Ms. Greene attended Saint Mary’s University in Halifax and Laval University in Québec City. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and a Bachelor of Arts.

Director General, Corporate Services

Photo of Luc Casault, Director General, Corporate Services

Luc Casault

Luc Casault joined the TSB in April 2017 as the Director General, Corporate Services. As part of his duties, he has the following titles on behalf of the TSB: Chief Financial Officer, Chief Information Officer and Head of Human Resources.

Mr. Casault has 20 years of experience in federal government entities. Throughout his career, he was involved in numerous modernization initiatives. Prior to joining the TSB, he was a Senior Director with Public Services and Procurement Canada responsible for Procurement Business Modernization. He has also worked at Statistics Canada, the Chief Information Branch of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, in finance and procurement at Natural Resources Canada, as well as in finance at Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada.

Mr. Casault is a Chartered Professional Accountant and a Certified General Accountant, and holds a Bachelor of Commerce and an MBA from the University of Ottawa. In 2010, he received a GTEC award in recognition of his successful implementation of the National ePayment Project at NRCan.

Director, Financial Management

Photo of Jennifer Chau

Jennifer Chau

Jennifer Chau was appointed Director, Financial Management effective April 2021.

In this role, she supports the CFO in overseeing key corporate and strategic financial decisions and ensuring strong stewardship of the TSB’s finances. As part of her duties, she also holds the title of Deputy Chief Financial Officer.

Ms. Chau has over 15 years of experience working in federal government financial management including roles in central agencies as well as in large and small departments. Over the course of her career, she has developed a broad expertise working in various financial streams including corporate planning and reporting, financial resource management, accounting operations, financial systems and financial policy. At the TSB, she has led several initiatives including the implementation of the Policy on Results and the implementation of a new departmental financial and material management system. Prior to joining the TSB, Ms. Chau worked for the Receiver General’s Accounting and Treasury sector.

Ms. Chau is a Chartered Professional Accountant and a Certified Management Accountant, and holds an Honours Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Ottawa.

Director, Human Resources

Photo of Dan White, Director, Human Resources

Dan White

Appointed Director, Human Resources, April 2021

Dan White joined the TSB in June 2009 as a Senior HR Advisor and became a member of the senior management team, and Head of Human Resources, in April 2021.

Mr. White has over 20 years of experience in corporate services functions from both a regional and headquarters perspective. Throughout his career, he has performed a wide range of operational and corporate roles in the field of human resources including classification, staffing, labour relations, and corporate reporting. He was involved in numerous human resources modernization initiatives including various HR systems migrations, implementation of the New Direction in Staffing, and Classification reform. In his tenure at the TSB, Mr. White has been formally recognized for his efforts and leadership with a Service to the Client Award (2011) and Living Our Values Award (2020).

Mr. White attended Saint Mary’s University in Halifax, Nova Scotia and holds a Bachelor of Commerce and a Certificate in Human Resource Management.

Director, Communications

Photo of Nyree Costello

Nyree Costello

Nyree Costello joined the TSB as Director of Communications in February 2020. She came to the agency after two years as manager of Creative Services at Natural Resources Canada, where she oversaw the development and delivery of corporate branding and visual communication products to support departmental and ministerial priorities; the management of corporate publications and reports; and the organization and management of trade shows.

Nyree began her career as a journalist and photographer before shifting to communications in the television broadcasting and telecommunications sectors. Through her private consulting company, she has helped entrepreneurs, charities, and small and medium-sized enterprises launch their digital branding, marketing communications, and social media strategies.

Nyree holds an executive MBA from McGill University, a bachelor’s degree in communications from Athabasca University, a diploma in photojournalism from Loyalist College, and a certificate in website design from the University of Calgary.

General Counsel

Photo of Patrizia Huot, General Counsel

Patrizia Huot

Patrizia Huot joined the TSB in April 2015 as General Counsel. She holds a Common Law Degree (LL.B.) and a Masters in Classical Studies (Archaeology, Roman Numismatics) from Ottawa University, and has been a member of the Ontario Bar since 1999.

Ms Huot clerked for the Honourable Rouleau J. at the Federal Court of Canada. She worked as in house counsel at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada. In 2001, Ms Huot occupied the position of Executive Assistant and Legal Counsel to Mary Dawson Q.C., Associate Deputy Minister at the Department of Justice, where she worked on numerous high profile legal cases. From 2005 to 2014, she was Corporate counsel in the areas of transportation law, access and privacy law, and employment law at Legal Services at Transport Canada. In 2014, Ms Huot also worked at the Canadian Human Right Commission as Legal Advisor.

Language selection

Haute direction

Administrateur en chef des opérations

Photo de Andre Lapointe, administrateur en chef des opérations, Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

André Lapointe

Nommé Administrateur en chef des opérations le 26 août 2019

André Lapointe est un haut fonctionnaire chevronné possédant 28 années d’expérience de travail, dont 19 dans des postes de direction. Il est entré à la fonction publique en 1990 au Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité en qualité d’analyste politique et, par la suite, de rédacteur en chef à la Direction de l’analyse.

M. Lapointe est entré à Transports Canada (TC) en 1996 dans la division du renseignement et est devenu, en 2000, adjoint exécutif auprès du sous-ministre. De 2003 à 2006, il a occupé le poste de directeur exécutif, Politique stratégique et recherche et développement, où il était entre autres responsable du Centre de développement des transports. De 2007 à 2014, il a exercé les fonctions de directeur général régional de la Région du Québec, et entre 2014 et son arrivée au BST en 2019, il a exercé les fonctions de sous-ministre adjoint des Services généraux et dirigeant principal des finances de TC.

André est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts avec distinction en sciences politiques de l’Université McGill et une maîtrise ès arts en sciences sociales de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Directrice, Enquêtes – Aérien

Natacha Van Themsche, Directrice, Enquêtes – Air

Natacha Van Themsche

Natacha Van Themsche s'est jointe au BST en février 2017, à titre de directrice des enquêtes aéronautiques.

Avant de se joindre au BST, elle a notamment occupé des postes de directrice et de commandante au sein des Forces armées canadiennes, où elle a œuvré pendant plus de 24 ans. Officier du génie aérospatial, elle a occupé plusieurs postes clés au niveau de la direction des activités de navigabilité et d'ingénierie, ainsi que des opérations de maintenance au sein de l'Aviation royale canadienne. Ces expériences l'ont amenée à travailler sur plusieurs flottes d'aéronefs, telles que le CT-133 (Silver Star), le CC-144 (Challenger), le CT-114 (Tutor/Snowbirds), et plus particulièrement le CF-18 (Hornet).

Mme Van Themsche a débuté sa carrière au sein des Forces armées canadiennes en 1992. Elle a complété son Baccalauréat ès science, Sciences spatiales avec spécialisation, au Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston en 1997, et sa formation en génie aérospatial en 1999. En 2012, Mme Van Themsche s'est vu décerner la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine Élizabeth II à titre de reconnaissance pour sa contribution aux Forces armées canadiennes et à la collectivité.

Directeur, Enquêtes – Maritime

Clifford Harvey, Directeur, Enquêtes – Maritime

Clifford Harvey

Clifford Harvey s’est joint au BST en 2019 à titre de directeur de la section des enquêtes maritimes.

M. Harvey, un ingénieur naval, possède plus de 25 ans d’expérience comme fonctionnaire dans l’industrie navale. En plus d’avoir navigué à bord des bateaux de la Garde côtière canadienne comme officier mécanicien en chef, M. Harvey a acquis une connaissance des aspects plus généraux de la navigation commerciale et de la conformité réglementaire en travaillant à Transports Canada comme inspecteur de la sécurité maritime dans l’un des bureaux régionaux et comme gestionnaire national de programme à l’administration centrale. Cadre chevronné à la fonction publique, M. Harvey était retourné travailler à la Garde côtière canadienne où il a été responsable de la gestion du cycle de vie et du programme de soutien en service de la flotte, avant d’aboutir au BST.

M. Harvey est diplômé du Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne et détient un BA d’officier mécanicien de première classe (STCW) [navire à moteur] ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en technologie (sciences nautiques) du University College of Cape Breton.

Directeur, Enquêtes – Ferroviaire/Pipelinier

Photo de Vincenzo De Angelis, Directeur, Enquêtes – Ferroviaire/Pipelinier

Vincenzo De Angelis

Vincenzo De Angelis s’est joint au BST en février 2022 à titre de directeur, Enquêtes – Rail/Pipeline.

M. De Angelis a entamé sa carrière en 2001 en tant qu’ingénieur en mécanique et gestionnaire de projet au Centre d’essais techniques (Mer) (CETM) à Montréal. Il est entré à la fonction publique en 2008 à titre d’ingénieur de projet à la Direction de l’approvisionnement des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), à Ottawa. Par la suite, il a travaillé au sein de la Direction des services techniques intégrés de la GCC où il a occupé des postes d’ingénieur principal, de gestionnaire et de directeur adjoint, et a apporté un soutien technique au parc en service. Pendant sa carrière, il a dirigé ou supervisé diverses enquêtes techniques et a été responsable de la prestation de services d’ingénierie et techniques fournis par des équipes multidisciplinaires. En outre, il a noué d’excellentes relations avec des partenaires et des intervenants du secteur et du gouvernement.

M. De Angelis détient un baccalauréat en ingénierie et une maîtrise en génie aérospatial de l’Université Concordia, à Montréal.

Directrice associée, Services à l’appui des opérations

Photo de Susan Greene, Directrice associée, Services à l’appui des opérations

Susan Greene

Susan Greene est entrée au BST en 2011, en qualité de gestionnaire, Formation et normes multimodales. Elle est devenue membre de l’équipe de la haute direction en juillet 2018.

La carrière en aviation de Mme Greene a débuté en 1987, lorsqu’elle a été engagée par un transporteur aérien régional du Canada atlantique. Elle y a travaillé dans un contexte opérationnel, pour éventuellement progresser vers la gestion. En 1995, Mme Greene a quitté sa province natale, la Nouvelle-Écosse, pour s’installer à Ottawa et entrer dans la fonction publique à Transports Canada (TC), en qualité d’inspectrice, Sécurité de l’aviation civile. Pendant les 16 années qu’elle a passées à TC, Mme Greene a mené une carrière variée et de plus en plus exigeante, occupant entre autres des postes de surintendante, Sécurité des cabines, Inspection des entreprises de transport aérien; gestionnaire, projet d’éducation en sûreté, Opérations sûreté; chef, Normes de la sécurité des cabines; et chef, Gestion des programmes, Direction des normes, Aviation civile. Tout au long de sa carrière, d’abord à TC et maintenant au BST, elle a mené des initiatives nationales très variées visant à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des règlements, des normes, des politiques, des processus, des procédures et des cours de formation.

Mme Greene a fréquenté l’Université Saint Mary’s de Halifax et l’Université Laval de Québec. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en mathématique et d’un baccalauréat ès arts.

Directeur général, Services intégrés

Photo de Luc Casault, Directeur général des services intégrés

Luc Casault

Luc Casault s'est joint au BST en avril 2017 à titre de directeur général des services intégrés. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions au BST, il assure les rôles de dirigeant principal des finances, de dirigeant principal de l'information et de chef des ressources humaines.

M. Casault a 20 années d'expérience au sein de l'appareil public fédéral. À travers sa carrière, il a participé à plusieurs initiatives de modernisation. Avant de se joindre au BST, il travaillait comme directeur principal, Modernisation des processus d'approvisionnements, à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada. Il a aussi travaillé à Statistiques Canada, au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (Direction du dirigeant principal de l'information), à Ressources naturelles Canada (en finances et approvisionnement) et à Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (en finances).

M. Casault est comptable professionnel agréé et comptable général accrédité, et détient un baccalauréat en commerce et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université d'Ottawa. En 2010, il a remporté un prix GTEC soulignant la mise en œuvre réussie du projet national de paiement électronique à Ressources naturelles Canada.

Directrice, Gestion financière

Photo de Jennifer Chau, Directrice, Gestion financière

Jennifer Chau

Jennifer Chau a été nommée directrice de la gestion financière en avril 2021.

Dans son rôle, Mme Chau aide le dirigeant principal des finances à revoir les principales décisions financières stratégiques et ministérielles et à assurer une bonne gestion des finances au sein du BST. Elle assume aussi le rôle de dirigeante principale des finances adjointe.

Mme Chau possède plus de 15 ans d’expérience en gestion financière au sein du gouvernement fédéral, notamment dans des organismes centraux ainsi que dans de petits et grands ministères. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a acquis un large savoir-faire dans divers volets financiers, notamment la planification et les rapports ministériels, la gestion des ressources financières, les opérations comptables, les systèmes financiers et les politiques financières. Au BST, elle a mené plusieurs initiatives, y compris la mise en œuvre de la Politique sur les résultats et la mise en application d’un nouveau système ministériel de gestion des finances et du matériel. Avant de se joindre au BST, Mme Chau a travaillé pour le secteur de la comptabilité et de la trésorerie du Receveur général.

Mme Chau est comptable professionnelle agréée et comptable en management accréditée. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences commerciales spécialisé de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Directeur, Ressources humaines

Photo de Dan White, Directeur, Ressources humaines

Dan White

Nommé directeur des Ressources humaines en avril 2021

Dan White s’est joint au BST en tant que conseiller principal en ressources humaines en juin 2009. Puis, en avril 2021, il est devenu membre de l’équipe de la haute direction et chef des ressources humaines. 

M. White a plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans des fonctions de services généraux, et ce, tant au sein de bureaux régionaux que d’administrations centrales. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a occupé un grand nombre de postes opérationnels et généraux dans le secteur des ressources humaines, notamment en ce qui a trait à la classification, à la dotation en personnel, aux relations de travail et à la production de rapports. Il a participé à de nombreuses initiatives de modernisation des ressources humaines, notamment par diverses migrations de systèmes de RH, la mise en œuvre de la Nouvelle orientation en dotation et la réforme de la classification. Pendant ses années au BST, M. White a été officiellement reconnu pour ses efforts et son leadership par le Prix « Service à la clientèle » en 2011 et le Prix « Vivre nos valeurs » en 2020.

M. White a fréquenté l’Université Saint Mary’s à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce et d’un certificat en gestion des ressources humaines.

Directrice, Communications

Photo de Nyree Costello, Directrice, Communications

Nyree Costello

Nyree Costello a rejoint le BST en tant que directrice des communications en février 2020. Elle s'est jointe à l'organisme après avoir occupé pendant deux ans le poste de gestionnaire des services créatifs à Ressources naturelles Canada, où elle supervisait l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de l'image de marque et des produits de communication visuelle à l'appui des priorités ministérielles; la gestion des publications et des rapports de l'organisme; et l'organisation et la gestion de salons professionnels.

Nyree a commencé sa carrière comme journaliste et photographe avant de se tourner vers les communications dans les secteurs de la télédiffusion et des télécommunications. Par le biais de son entreprise de conseil privée, elle a aidé des entrepreneurs, des organismes de bienfaisance ainsi que des petites et moyennes entreprises à lancer leur stratégie de marque numérique, de communication marketing et de médias sociaux.

Elle est titulaire d'un Executive MBA l'Université McGill, d'un baccalauréat en communications de l'Université Athabasca, d'un diplôme en photojournalisme du Loyalist College et d'un certificat en conception de sites Web de l'Université de Calgary.

Avocate générale

Photo de Patrizia Huot, Avocate générale

Patrizia Huot

Patrizia Huot s'est jointe au BST en avril 2015 à titre d'avocate générale. Elle détient un diplôme en Common Law (LL.B.) et une maîtrise en études classiques (archéologie, numismatique romaine) de l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle est membre du Barreau de l'Ontario depuis 1999.

Mme Huot a travaillé à titre d’auxiliaire juridique de l'honorable juge Rouleau de la Cour fédérale du Canada. Elle a occupé le poste d’avocate interne à la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada. En 2001, Mme Huot a occupé le poste d'adjointe exécutive et avocate de Mary Dawson Q.C., sous-ministre adjointe au ministère de la Justice, où elle a travaillé à de nombreuses causes judiciaires très médiatisées. De 2005 à 2014, elle s’est jointe aux services juridiques à Transports Canada, où elle a travaillé comme avocate-conseil dans les domaines du droit du transport, de l'accès à l’information et du droit à la vie privée, ainsi que du droit du travail. En 2014, elle a également travaillé à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne en tant que conseillère juridique.