Language selection

News release

Associated links (A19Q0091)

Loss of control on takeoff and collision with ground in Trois-Rivières, Quebec

Dorval, Quebec, 18 February 2021 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its investigation report (A19Q0091) on a loss of control and collision with the ground, which occurred in Trois-Rivières, Quebec, in 2019. It was determined that problem that prevented the flaps from retracting after the landing triggered a series of events, which in turn caused the propellers to strike the runway surface, followed by a loss of aircraft control.

On 17 June 2019, a Piper PA-23-250 aircraft, operated by Cargair Ltd., was conducting a night visual flight rules flight. The purpose of the flight was to complete the pilot’s hours for the Integrated Airline Transport Pilot training program. The aircraft departed from the Montréal/St-Hubert Airport (CYHU), Quebec, at 2230. The route included an approach followed by a go around at the Québec/Jean Lesage International Airport (CYQB), Quebec, and the Trois-Rivières Airport (CYRQ), Quebec, before the aircraft was to return and land at CYHU. A passenger, who was also a flight instructor, was on board to supervise the flight. As the aircraft approached CYRQ, it was decided to conduct a touch-and-go. During the take-off roll, the propellers on both engines struck the runway surface. After takeoff, the aircraft turned left and the pilot lost control. The aircraft collided with the ground and a post-impact fire broke out. Both occupants were able to evacuate the aircraft, but the pilot received minor injuries and the passenger received serious injuries. The aircraft was destroyed.

On the final approach at CYRQ, the landing gear handle was moved to the DOWN position, but it did not automatically return to the neutral position as expected once the landing gear was down and locked, which prevented the flaps from retracting after landing. The investigation showed that this anomaly created a situation that was counter to the passenger-instructor’s expectations; the passenger-instructor took action to fix this situation during the take-off roll by moving the landing gear handle to the UP position when, in fact, the aircraft was still rolling on the runway. Then the landing gear retracted, the aircraft dropped, and the propellers struck the runway surface, causing asymmetrical damage to the propellers.

The investigation revealed that it is likely that the pilot, having been startled, pulled back on the control column (nose up) enough to get off the ground. When the landing gear was fully retracted, the flaps began to rise. The reduction in lift caused by the flaps retracting while the aircraft was flying at low speed, combined with the asymmetrical low engine traction, resulted in the loss of control of the aircraft.

As a result of the accident, Cargair Ltd. took several measures, including sending a safety notice to the affected personnel regarding a vulnerability in using the landing gear and flaps at the same time, as well as a modification to the standard operating procedures.

See the investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Language selection

Communiqué

Liens connexes (A19Q0091)

Perte de maîtrise au décollage et impact avec le sol à Trois-Rivières (Québec)

Dorval (Québec), le 18 février 2021 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd’hui son rapport d’enquête (A19Q0091) sur une perte de maîtrise et un impact avec le sol, survenus à Trois-Rivières (Québec) en 2019. Il a été déterminé que le blocage inattendu de la rétraction des volets après l’atterrissage a déclenché une série d’événements, ayant à leur tour mené à un impact des hélices avec la surface de la piste, suivi d’une perte de maîtrise de l’aéronef.

Le 17 juin 2019, un aéronef Piper PA-23-250 exploité par Cargair ltée effectuait un vol voyage de nuit selon les règles de vol à vue. Le vol avait pour objectif de compléter les heures prévues au programme de formation intégrée de pilote de ligne du pilote. Le départ de l’aéronef s’est effectué à partir de l’aéroport de Montréal/St-Hubert (CYHU) (Québec) à 22 h 30. Le trajet prévu comprenait une approche suivie d’une remontée à l’aéroport international de Québec/Jean Lesage (CYQB) (Québec) et à l’aéroport de Trois-Rivières (CYRQ) (Québec), avant que l’aéronef revienne se poser à CYHU. Un passager, qui était aussi un instructeur de vol, était à bord afin de superviser l’exécution du vol. Lors de l’approche à CYRQ, il a été décidé d’effectuer un posé-décollé. Pendant la course au décollage, les hélices des deux moteurs sont entrées en contact avec la surface de la piste. Après avoir décollé, l’aéronef a viré vers la gauche puis le pilote en a perdu la maîtrise. L’aéronef est entré en collision avec le sol et à la suite de l’impact, un incendie s’est déclaré. Les deux occupants ont pu évacuer l’aéronef, mais le pilote a subi des blessures légères et le passager des blessures graves. L’aéronef a été détruit.

Lors de l’approche finale à CYRQ, le levier du train d’atterrissage a été abaissé à la position DOWN, mais il n’est pas revenu automatiquement à la position centrale, tel qu’attendu, une fois le train d’atterrissage abaissé et verrouillé, ce qui a empêché la rétraction des volets après l’atterrissage. L’enquête a montré que cette anomalie a créé une situation contraire aux attentes du passager-instructeur, situation qu’il a entrepris de corriger pendant la course au décollage en plaçant le levier du train à la position UP, alors qu’en réalité, l’aéronef roulait toujours sur la piste. Le train d’atterrissage s’est alors rétracté, l’aéronef est descendu, et les hélices sont entrées en contact avec la surface de la piste, ce qui leur a causé des dommages asymétriques.

L’enquête a révélé qu’il est probable qu’un réflexe de sursaut du pilote ait provoqué une action de recul (en cabré) sur le manche qui était suffisante pour effectuer le décollage. Lorsque le train d’atterrissage s’est complètement rétracté, les volets ont commencé à monter. La réduction de la portance créée par la rétraction des volets alors que l’aéronef était dans un régime de vol à faible vitesse et à faible traction motrice asymétrique s’est soldée par la perte de maîtrise de l’aéronef.

Suite à l’accident, Cargair ltée a pris différentes mesures dont l’envoi d’un avis de sécurité au personnel affecté concernant une vulnérabilité lors de l’utilisation simultanée du train d’atterrissage et des volets, ainsi que la modification des procédures d’exploitation normalisées.

Voir la page de l’enquête pour plus d’information


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca