Air transportation safety investigation A19O0117

The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 15 January 2021.

Table of contents

Runway incursion

Air Georgian Bombardier CRJ-200
Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On , the Air Georgian Limited Bombardier CRJ 200 aircraft (registration C-GKEJ, serial number 7269) was preparing to conduct flight GGN7339 from Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario, to John Glenn Columbus International Airport, Ohio, United States. The Air Canada Boeing 777-300 aircraft (registration C-FIUR, serial number 35242) was completing flight ACA883 from Kobenhavn/Kastrup Airport, Copenhagen, Denmark, to Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario.

At 1240 Eastern Daylight Time, the flight crew of the CRJ 200 began taxiing and approximately 3 minutes later, was instructed by the tower controller to line up on Runway 33R. At approximately the same time, the Boeing 777 landed on Runway 33L and taxied onto Taxiway H. The north ground controller instructed the flight crew of the Boeing 777 to cross Runway 33R, and while the Boeing 777 was crossing the runway, the crew of the CRJ 200 began its take-off roll, without clearance. When the flight crew of the CRJ 200 saw the Boeing 777 over the crest of the runway, they aborted the takeoff and exited the runway via Taxiway B2. The occurrence took place during day visual meteorological conditions. There were no injuries. There was no aircraft damage.


Media materials

News release

2021-01-15

Misinterpretation of air traffic control communication identified as a factor in August 2019 runway incursion at Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport
Read the news release


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence




Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Glen Whitney

Glen Whitney joined the TSB in June 2008 as an investigator/operations specialist in the TSB Air Investigations Branch at Head Office, in Gatineau, Quebec. He has over 26 years of civil aviation experience and has accumulated over 14,000 flight hours.

Prior to joining the TSB, his experience was gained flying floats, northern and gravel operations as well as scheduled commuter airline flying. He was also involved in flight crew training and checking and was the chief accident investigator at the airline.


Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19O0117

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 15 janvier 2021.

Table des matières

Incursion sur piste

Air Georgian Limited
Bombardier CRJ 200, C-GKEJ
Aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , l’aéronef Bombardier CRJ 200 (immatriculation C-GKEJ, numéro de série 7269) exploité par Air Georgian Limited se préparait à effectuer le vol GGN7339 de l’aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario) à l’aéroport international John Glenn de Columbus (Ohio, États-Unis). L’aéronef Boeing 777-300 (immatriculation C-FIUR, numéro de série 35242) exploité par Air Canada achevait le vol ACA883 de l’aéroport de Kastrup-Kobenhavn (Copenhague, Danemark) à l’aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario).

À 12 h 40, heure avancée de l’Est, l’équipage de conduite du CRJ 200 a commencé à circuler et environ 3 minutes plus tard, le contrôleur tour lui a demandé de s’aligner sur la piste 33R. À peu près au même moment, l’aéronef Boeing 777 a atterri sur la piste 33L et a circulé sur la voie de circulation H. Le contrôleur sol nord a demandé à l’équipage de conduite du Boeing 777 de traverser la piste 33R. Pendant que le Boeing 777 traversait la piste, l’équipage du CRJ 200 a amorcé sa course au décollage, sans en avoir obtenu l’autorisation. Lorsque l’équipage de conduite du CRJ 200 a aperçu le Boeing 777 au-dessus de la bosse de la piste, il a interrompu le décollage et est sorti de la piste par la voie de circulation B2. L’événement est survenu de jour dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue. Personne n’a été blessé. Les aéronefs n’ont subi aucun dommage.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2021-01-15

Une mauvaise interprétation des communications avec le contrôle de la circulation aérienne serait l’un des facteurs qui ont mené à une incursion sur piste en août 2019 à l’aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto
Lire le communiqué de presse


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région




Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Glen Whitney

Glen Whitney s'est joint au BST en juin 2008 à titre d'enquêteur/spécialiste des opérations pour la Direction des enquêtes (Air) à l'administration centrale de Gatineau, au Québec. Il possède plus de 26 ans d'expérience en aviation civile et a accumulé plus de 14 000 heures de vol.

Avant de faire partie du BST, il a fait des vols en hydravion et des vols réguliers avec une entreprise de transport aérien régional et il a mené des opérations dans le Nord et sur pistes en gravier. Il a également participé à la formation et au contrôle des équipages, en plus d'être le chef des enquêtes sur les accidents de l'entreprise de transport aérien régional.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: