Language selection

News release

Associated links (A20F0002)

Flight PS752 Safety Investigation: TSB Expert appointed as technical adviser to Ukraine’s Accredited Representative

Gatineau, Quebec, 16 February 2021 — The TSB Expert assigned to the PS752 safety investigation has been appointed by the National Bureau of Air Accidents Investigation of Ukraine as a technical adviser to Ukraine’s Accredited Representative.

In accordance with Annex 13 to the Convention on International Civil Aviation, a State entitled to appoint an Accredited Representative to a safety investigation shall also be entitled to appoint one or more advisers to assist the Accredited Representative in the investigation, including the review of the draft safety investigation report.
Given its status of Expert under Annex 13, the TSB did not originally receive a copy of Iran’s draft safety investigation report as part of the review process. However, with the appointment as Ukraine’s technical adviser, the TSB Expert has now received a copy of the draft safety investigation report.

“The TSB remains committed to getting answers for the families and loved ones of those killed in the downing of flight PS752,” says TSB Chair Kathy Fox. “Accepting to advise Ukraine’s Accredited Representative means that our Expert will now have the opportunity to provide feedback on the draft safety investigation report to Ukraine, which they may include in their overall response to Iran’s draft safety investigation report.”

Annex 13 states that Accredited Representatives and their advisers shall provide the State conducting the investigation, in this case, the Islamic Republic of Iran, with all relevant information available to them. It also prohibits Accredited Representatives and their advisers from divulging information on the progress and the findings of the safety investigation without the express consent of the State conducting the investigation.

Accordingly, the TSB will not comment further until after the final safety investigation report is released publicly by the Aircraft Accident Investigation Board of the Islamic Republic of Iran.

See the investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué

Liens connexes (A20F0002)

Enquête sur la sécurité du vol PS752 : l’expert du BST nommé conseiller technique du représentant accrédité de l’Ukraine

Gatineau (Québec), 16 février 2021 - L’expert du BST assigné à l’enquête sur la sécurité du vol PS752 a été nommé conseiller technique du représentant accrédité de l’Ukraine par le bureau national d’enquête sur les accidents aériens de l’Ukraine.

Conformément à l’Annexe 13 à la Convention relative à l’aviation civile internationale, un État qui a la faculté de désigner un représentant accrédité aura également la faculté de lui adjoindre un ou plusieurs conseillers pour aider le représentant accrédité au cours de l’enquête, y compris la revue du projet de rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité.

Compte tenu de son statut d’expert en vertu de l’Annexe 13, le BST n’a pas reçu de copie du projet de rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité de l’Iran initialement. Cependant, puisque l’expert du BST a été nommé conseiller technique de l’Ukraine, il a maintenant reçu une copie du projet de rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité.

La présidente du BST, Kathy Fox, affirme que le BST est toujours déterminé à obtenir des réponses pour la famille et les proches des personnes ayant perdu la vie dans l’écrasement du vol PS752. Elle dit également que, parce que le BST accepte d’aviser le représentant accrédité de l’Ukraine, l’expert du BST aura l’occasion de fournir des commentaires sur le projet de rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité. Le représentant accrédité de l’Ukraine pourra choisir de les inclure à sa réponse globale concernant le projet de rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité de l’Iran.

L’Annexe 13 stipule que les représentants accrédités et leurs conseillers doivent fournir à l’État qui mène l’enquête – dans ce cas, la République islamique d’Iran –, tous les renseignements pertinents dont ils disposent. L’Annexe 13 stipule aussi que les représentants accrédités et leurs conseillers doivent s’abstenir de divulguer des informations sur le déroulement et les éléments de l’enquête sur la sécurité sans le consentement formel de l’État qui mène l’enquête.

Par conséquent, le BST ne formulera pas d’autres commentaires jusqu’à ce que le rapport final de l’enquête sur la sécurité soit publié par le bureau d’enquête sur les accidents d’aéronefs de la République islamique d’Iran.

Consultez la page de l’enquête pour obtenir plus d’information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :