Rail transportation safety investigation R19W0002

Updated in December 2020 : This investigation is in the report phase.

Table of contents

Train collision

Canadian National
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba

The occurrence

On , a Canadian National (CN) train assignment was proceeding eastward when it collided with a westward assignment on the main track, at Mile 50.4 of the Rivers Subdivision near Portage la Prairie, Manitoba. The 2 lead locomotives on the eastward train derailed. A diesel fuel leak was detected, but was contained. Eight cars on the westward train derailed and one car was damaged, but did not derail. The train conductor on the eastward train sustained minor injuries. The TSB is investigating.


Media materials

Deployment notice

2019-01-03

TSB is deploying a team of investigators to the site of a train collision near Portage la Prairie, Manitoba

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of a train collision involving a Canadian National Railway train near Portage la Prairie, Manitoba. The investigators will be on site tomorrow to gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence




Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Robert Bruder

Robert Bruder joined the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) in September 2013 as a Regional Senior Investigator for Rail and Pipeline at the Toronto office. Mr. Bruder has an extensive background in railway operations and risk management garnered over a 36-year career with the Canadian National (CN). He managed CN’s Risk Management Department for Eastern Canada from 2004 to 2013, and was extensively involved in the development and implementation of CN’s safety management system, accident/injury investigation, analysis and cause-finding processes, as well as derailment emergency response and mitigation.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 2 investigation. These investigations are complex and involve several safety issues requiring in-depth analysis. Class 2 investigations, which frequently result in recommendations, are generally completed within 600 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R19W0002

Mise à jour en décembre 2020 : Cette enquête est à l’étape de production du rapport.

Table des matières

Collision ferroviaire

L'événement

Le , une manœuvre du Canadien National (CN) se dirigeait vers l'est lorsqu'elle est entrée en collision avec une manœuvre du CN en direction est sur la voie principale, au point milliaire 50,4 de la subdivision de Rivers, près de Portage la Prairie (Manitoba). Les 2 locomotives de tête du train en direction est ont déraillé. On a détecté une fuite de carburant diesel, mais elle a été contenue. Huit wagons du train en direction ouest ont déraillé; un wagon a été endommagé, mais n'a pas déraillé. Le chef de train du train en direction est a subi des blessures mineures. Le BST mène une enquête.


Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2019-01-03

Le BST envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur les lieux d'une collision ferroviaire survenue près de Portage la Prairie (Manitoba)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur les lieux d'une collision ferroviaire impliquant un train du Canadien National près de Portage la Prairie, au Manitoba. Les enquêteurs seront sur le site demain pour recueillir des informations et évaluer l’événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région




Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Robert Bruder

Robert Bruder s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) en septembre 2013 à titre d'enquêteur régional principal, Rail et Pipeline, au bureau régional de Toronto. M. Bruder possède une solide expérience dans les domaines ferroviaire et de la gestion du risque, qu'il a acquise au cours d'une carrière de 36 ans pour le Canadien National (CN). Il a géré le département de la gestion du risque du CN pour l'Est du Canada de 2004 à 2013, et a largement contribué à l'élaboration et à la mise en place du système de gestion de la sécurité du CN, ainsi que des processus d'enquête sur les accidents et les blessures, des processus d'analyse et de détermination des causes, et des processus d'intervention d'urgence et d'atténuation en cas de déraillement.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 2. Ces enquêtes sont complexes et portent sur plusieurs problèmes de sécurité exigeant une analyse approfondie. Les enquêtes de catégorie 2, qui donnent souvent lieu à des recommandations, se concluent généralement en 600 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: